tacey.

Tacey vs Mergify. Merge into the order you already have, with no per-merge fee, from $29.

Mergify is a dedicated merge app that creates a new order and meters each merge. Tacey merges into the existing order with no fee per merge, and also edits orders, checks every address and sends reminders.

The short verdict, and who should pick which.

THE VERDICT

Mergify is a dedicated order-merge app: free for 5 merges, then $9.99 to $49.99 a month, with scheduled auto merge on its two top plans. It creates a new order from the ones it merges and bills each merge past a plan's allowance. Tacey merges into the order you already have, with no fee per merge, and will not merge two different customers' orders. It also edits orders, checks every address, sends reminders and runs upsells, from $29. Mergify prices by merges, Tacey by orders, so compare them on your own volume. If merge is one job of several, Tacey is one app for all of them.

PICK TACEY IF
  • You want editing and merging in one app, not two
  • You want the merged order to be the order you already have, not a new one
  • You want merging to cost nothing per merge
  • You want an app that refuses to merge two different customers' orders
  • You also want address checks on every order, reminders and a record of every change, from $29
PICK MERGIFY IF
  • Merging is the only job and you want a low price: $9.99 a month covers 35 merges
  • You want scheduled auto merge with filtering rules, which their Advanced and Professional plans list
  • You want to preview a merge as a draft order and undo it from History
  • You want shipping recalculated during the merge, with the difference kept or refunded
  • You work with ShipBob, ShipStation or Shopify Flow, which their listing names
WHAT TACEY IS

Tacey is a Shopify app for everything that happens after checkout. Customers fix their own order on Shopify's thank you and order status pages, every address is checked as the order lands, customers are reminded while the edit window is open, you can merge two paid orders from one customer, and upsells run on the same pages, a free gift once an order passes a total you set and a Recommended for you row. Plans differ by order volume only, from $29 for 750 orders a month, with a 14-day free trial.

WHAT MERGIFY IS

Mergify: Combine, Merge Orders is made by BestApper, on the Shopify App Store since September 2021 and carrying the Built for Shopify badge. It combines a customer's repeat orders into one new merged order, by hand from the Orders page, from Smart Suggestions you approve, or automatically with filtering rules. Manual merge, unlimited Smart Suggestions, Usage History and customer notification are on every plan. English only.

Feature by feature, grouped by what Tacey does.

Four jobs after checkout, plus one offer. Tacey's side is what the product does today. Theirs is what their public pages say.

WHERE TACEY APPEARSThe thank you pageThe page Shopify shows right after checkout. The customer can fix their order and sees one offer while the box is still open.
WHERE TACEY APPEARSThe order status pageThe page Shopify emails afterwards. Edits, address fixes and reminders send the customer back here while the window is open.

Order editing

THE CUSTOMER ACTS

Customers fix their own order on the page Shopify already shows them, while the edit window is open.

Change the shipping address
TACEYYes
MERGIFYNot listedThe listing does not mention editing shipping addressesNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026
Change a quantity
TACEYYes
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026
Cancel the order
TACEYYes
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026
Customers fix their own order
TACEYYes, on Shopify's thank you and order status pages
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026
A record of every edit
TACEYEvery plan, including whether Shopify confirmed the change
MERGIFYPartialLists History for merges, with undo, and Usage History. It does not describe a record of edits to an order

Address validation

AUTOMATIC

Every address is checked as the order lands, then corrected, flagged, or honestly marked unchecked.

Checks every order's address
TACEYYes, every order on every plan
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026

Pre-ship reminders

AUTOMATIC

While the edit window is still open, Tacey brings the customer back to check their order.

Reminds the customer before the order ships
TACEYYes, while the edit window is open
MERGIFYNot listedCustomer notification is listed for merges. A pre-ship reminder is notNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026

Order merge

YOU, THE MERCHANT

A merchant action on two paid orders from one customer, from Tacey's admin or automatically once you switch it on. It is not something a shopper does.

Merge two paid orders into one shipment
TACEYYes, from Tacey's admin
MERGIFYYesManual merge from the Orders page, Smart Suggestions, and automatic merge on Advanced and up
Which order survives
TACEYThe existing order is kept, no new order is created
MERGIFYNoCreates one new merged order. The listing says the original orders are fulfilled with the merged order's tracking
Whose orders can be merged
TACEYOne customer's orders only, never two different customers'
MERGIFYPartialDescribes merging repeat orders from one customer, by hand or from Smart Suggestions you approve. It does not say whether a merge across customers is refused
Fee per merge
TACEYNone
MERGIFYNo5 merges free in total, then $0.50 each. Paid plans include 35, 150 or 350 a month, then $0.30, $0.20 or $0.15 each
Merges per plan
TACEYNo fee per merge on any plan, and merged orders never count against your order volume
MERGIFYPartial5 merges free in total, then $0.50 each. Plans list 35, 150 or 350 merges a month
Automatic merging
TACEYOpt-in: switch it on and Tacey merges safe pairs from one customer on its own, every 15 minutes
MERGIFYYesAdvanced and Professional: Auto Merge instantly, after a delay, or daily or weekly, with Filtering Rules
What happens to the money
TACEYThe absorbed order is cancelled with no refund for its items, the surviving order takes no new charge, and both original payments stand
MERGIFYPartialLists recalculating shipping from store rates, then keeping or refunding the difference. It does not say how the original payments are treated

Post-purchase upsell

THE CUSTOMER CHOOSES WHAT TO ADD

A free gift and a Recommended for you row, while the box is still open.

Add-to-order upsell
TACEYA free gift past a total you set, and a Recommended for you row, on the thank you and order status pages. An added item ships in the same parcel by default
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026
Post-purchase offer
TACEYNot built yet. Tacey has no screen between payment and the thank you page
MERGIFYNot listedNot stated on their public pages, checked 5 November 2026

"Not listed" means Mergify's public pages did not state it when we checked on 5 November 2026. It does not mean the feature is absent. Prices are list prices. Allowances differ between apps and are not directly comparable, so check both against your own monthly volume.

What you pay, and what you get for it.

Tacey's six plans differ by order volume and nothing else. Every capability above is on the cheapest one.

TACEY, ENTRY PLAN$29/mo750 orders a month, with every capability in the table above. A 14-day free trial, no free plan, nothing held back for a higher tier.
MERGIFY, ENTRY PLANFreeFree to install, with 5 merges in total. After that each merge costs $0.50, and the paid plans run from $9.99 to $49.99 a month.
ALL SIX TACEY PLANS
Starter
$29
750 orders a month
Growth
$49
1,500 orders a month
Scale
$79
2,500 orders a month
Pro
$129
5,000 orders a month
Advanced
$229
10,000 orders a month
High Volume
$399
20,000 orders a month
MERGIFY PUBLISHED PLANS
Starter
Free
5 merges in total. $0.50 per merge after that. No automatic merging
Basic
$9.99
35 merges a month. $0.30 per extra merge. 7-day free trial
Advanced
$29.99
150 merges a month. $0.20 per extra merge. Automatic merging. 7-day free trial
Professional
$49.99
350 merges a month. $0.15 per extra merge. Automatic merging. 7-day free trial
Fee per merge
TACEYNone, on every plan
MERGIFY$0.50 after 5 free. $0.15 to $0.30 past a paid plan's allowance
WHAT IT MEANSMetered merges are fine for a handful a month. At volume the fee becomes a line on the bill.
Merge only, 35 merges a month
TACEY$29 (Starter), merge plus the rest
MERGIFY$9.99 (Basic)
WHAT IT MEANSMergify charges by merges, Tacey by orders. Tacey's $29 also covers editing, address checks, reminders and upsells.
150 merges a month
TACEY$29 if you send up to 750 orders a month
MERGIFY$29.99 (Advanced)
WHAT IT MEANSTacey has no merge allowance to run past, so the plan follows your order volume.
Try it on your own orders for 14 days.Install, connect your store, and the next order is checked and recorded.
Install on Shopify

Where Tacey is stronger, in plain terms.

Merges into the order you already haveThe existing order is kept and no new order is created. Mergify's listing describes creating one new merged order.
No fee per mergeMerges never change the bill on any Tacey plan. Mergify bills $0.50 per merge past the free 5, and $0.15 to $0.30 past a paid plan's allowance.
Different customers' orders are refusedTacey will not merge two different customers' orders. Merge is for one customer's paid orders.
The money stays simpleThe absorbed order is cancelled with no refund for its items, the surviving order takes no new charge, and both original payments stand.
Editing, checks and reminders in the same appMergify's listing describes merging and the shipping handling around it. It does not list address editing, validation, upsells or reminders. Tacey has all of them from $29.

Where Mergify is ahead, and what we would say to it.

We would rather put their real advantages on our own page than have you find them somewhere else. Here they are, with our answer beside each one.

A small entry price if merging is all you need
MERGIFY$9.99 a month covers 35 merges, and the free plan covers 5 in total.
OUR ANSWERTacey starts at $29 for 750 orders a month, with no fee per merge. Tacey is priced for stores that want the rest of the after-checkout job too.
Scheduled auto merge with filtering rules
MERGIFYAdvanced and Professional run Auto Merge instantly, after a delay, or daily or weekly, with Filtering Rules. Starter and Basic list no automatic merging.
OUR ANSWERTacey's merge is a merchant action from Tacey's admin, and automatic merging is opt-in: switch it on and Tacey merges safe pairs from one customer every 15 minutes. We make no claim here about delayed, daily or weekly timing or custom filtering rules, so if you need those, start with Mergify.
Previews, undo and shipping handling
MERGIFYPreviews merges as draft orders, undoes a merge from History, fulfills the original orders with the merged order's tracking, and recalculates shipping from store rates, then keeps or refunds the difference.
OUR ANSWERIf you want a long list of merge controls, Mergify lists more of them. Tacey's merge is deliberately plain: the existing order is kept, the absorbed order is cancelled with no refund for its items and no new charge is taken.
A merge specialist's track record
MERGIFYOn the Shopify App Store since September 2021, with the Built for Shopify badge.
OUR ANSWERJudge Tacey on a 14-day trial with your own orders.

Switching to Tacey, without a project.

Your existing orders are untouched. The first order after you install is the first one Tacey checks.

  1. 1Install Tacey from the Shopify App StoreConnect your store. Your existing orders are untouched.
  2. 2Set how merging should behaveOpen Order Merge in Tacey's admin and set the merge options before your first merge.
  3. 3Merge your next pair from Tacey's adminPick two paid orders from one customer. The existing order is kept and the absorbed one is cancelled with no refund for its items.

Installing Tacey does not change orders Mergify has already merged. If you rely on scheduled auto merge or Mergify's undo, keep Mergify until you are sure Tacey's merge covers what you do today, and pause Mergify's automatic merging before you merge the same orders in Tacey, so two apps do not act on one pair.

Tacey vs Mergify, asked and answered.

See all pricing →
Does Tacey merge into a new order like Mergify?
No. Tacey merges into the order you already have: the existing order is kept and no new order is created. Mergify's listing describes creating one new merged order.
What happens to the money when Tacey merges two orders?
The absorbed order is cancelled with no refund for its items, the surviving order takes no new charge, and both original payments stand.
Can Tacey merge orders from two different customers?
No. Tacey will not merge two different customers' orders. Merge is a merchant action from Tacey's admin on two paid orders from one customer.
How do Tacey and Mergify price merging?
Mergify prices by merges: its Basic plan is $9.99 for 35 merges a month. Tacey prices by orders: $29 for 750 orders a month. Tacey has no fee per merge, and the same plan includes editing, address checks, reminders and upsells.
Does Tacey charge per merge?
No. Merges are not metered on any plan. Mergify's listing shows $0.50 per merge past the free 5, and $0.15 to $0.30 past a paid plan's allowance.
Can my customers merge their own orders in Tacey?
No. Order merge is a merchant action, taken from Tacey's admin. Customers fix their own order, and merging two paid orders is your call.
Does Tacey do anything besides merge?
Yes. Customers can fix their own order on Shopify's thank you and order status pages, every order's address is checked as it lands, customers are reminded while the edit window is open, and upsells run on the same pages. Mergify's listing describes merging and the shipping handling around it.
How does Tacey's price compare with Mergify?
Tacey starts at $29 a month for 750 orders and plans differ by order volume only. Mergify lists a free plan, with limits on its listing. Tacey has a 14-day trial and no free plan. Allowances differ between apps, so check both against your own monthly order volume.
Is there a free plan?
No. Every plan has a 14-day free trial instead, and you are not asked for anything to start it that Shopify has not already got.
Do I get fewer features on the cheapest plan?
No. Starter is the same product as High Volume. The only difference is how many orders a month you can send through it.

Merge into the order you already have, with no fee per merge.

Fourteen days free. No feature is held back for a higher plan.

Mergify details are from public sources as of 5 November 2026: Mergify on the Shopify App Store. Competitors change, so tell us if anything here is out of date.

← All comparisons